Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Bruno leads all vote-getters in Vail Town Council election

Eagle County unofficial election results also available

November 6, 2013, 5:14 am

Vail will have three new town council members after Tuesday’s municipal election, which saw businesswoman Jenn Bruno earn the highest number of votes at 568.

town of vail logoDave “Bone” Chapin, an owner of Vendetta’s restaurant in Vail Village, was second with 555 votes, according to unofficial results from the town clerk’s office.

Incumbent Greg Moffet, owner of a local advertising agency and a longtime Vail and Eagle County politician, got the third highest total with 458.

And Dale Bugby, a property manager, received the fourth highest total with 386 votes, earning him a two-year term.

Seven candidates were vying for four open council seats on the seven-member board. The three top vote-getters all earned four-year terms.

Incumbent Susie Tjossem came up 25 votes short of winning re-election. Sounia Nejad Chaney (245) and Meighen Lovelace (114) finished sixth and seventh.

Also, the Eagle County Clerk and Recorder’s Office released unofficial election results early Wednesday (Nov. 6), showing that area voters mirrored statewide sentiment in rejecting Amendment 66 — a sales tax increase for school funding — and supporting Proposition AA (a statewide tax on recreational marijuana sales). Go the the Eagle County website for more details and for results of several other local elections.

Here are the unofficial results of the Vail Town Council election and more stats from the Town of Vail:

Jenn Bruno, 568 votes, four-year term ends 2017
Dave “Bone” Chapin, 555 votes, four-year term ends 2017
Greg Moffet, 458 votes, four-year term ends 2017
Dale Bugby, 386 votes, two-year term ends 2015
Susie Tjossem, 361 votes
Sounia Nejad Chaney, 245 votes
Meighen Lovelace, 114 votes

Voter Turnout:

831 total votes cast – 19.5 percent voter turnout based on 4,257 registered voters as of Oct. 24. There were 497 who voted at the polls today and another 334 who either used a mail-in voter ballot or voted early.

Council Background:

Per the Vail Town Charter, the three candidates receiving the highest number of votes – Bruno, Chapin and Moffet – have been elected to four-year terms, while the fourth highest vote getter, Bugby, has been elected to a two-year term.

The election fills the terms of four of the town’s seven council positions. Those seats were held by the incumbent candidates Greg Moffet and Susie Tjossem, plus Kerry Donovan and Kevin Foley. Donovan had opted not to run for re-election in lieu of an upcoming bid for Colorado State Senate while Foley is term-limited and could not run again.

Terms of the remaining council members, Andy Daly, Ludwig Kurz and Margaret Rogers run to November 2015. Swearing-in ceremonies for the newly elected members will take place at 1 p.m. on Nov. 12 during an organizational meeting of the Vail Town Council as required by the town charter. At that time, the mayor and mayor pro tem will be selected. Each will serve two year terms.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *